Arcana Caelestia (Elliott)

0 review


The Arcana Caelestia is Swedenborg’s first published theological work (1749-1756). In twelve volumes it outlines the “spiritual sense” (or inner meaning) of the books of Genesis and Exodus. The spiritual sense has three levels: one dealing with the history of religion, a second outlining a person’s spiritual development and a third describing the process Jesus underwent as he “glorified” his humanity to become truly one with the Father. Many references to other biblical books show how this sense runs in unbroken sequence throughout the Sacred Scriptures. Between the chapters are discussions of many theological subjects such as the reality of the life after death. These make this work a primary source for understanding New Church theology.

Volume 1 covers Genesis 1-9

Volume 2 covers Genesis 10-17

Volume 3 covers Genesis 18-22

Volume 4 covers Genesis 23-27

Volume 5 covers Genesis 28-31

Volume 6 covers Genesis 32-38

Volume 7 covers Genesis 39-43

Volume 8 covers Genesis 44-50

Volume 9 covers Exodus 1-12

Volume 10 covers Exodus 13-21

Volume 11 covers Exodus 22-28

Volume 12 covers Exodus 29-40

Book Details

Author/Translator : Emanuel Swedenborg (written by), Elliott, John (translated by)

Publisher : The Swedenborg Society

Publication Date : 1983-1999 The Swedenborg Society

Language : English

mastercard and visa logo
logo stripe
A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.

Privacy Policy